Grateful Dead:
Dave's Picks Vol. 17
Selland Arena, Fresno, CA (7/19/74)

CD458 - 3 CD
Rhino, 2016

Go to the Shop



Grateful Dead: Dave's Picks Volume 17
Selland Arena, Fresno, CA (7/19/74)

When the Grateful Dead hit the workingman's town of Fresno, California on July 19, 1974, they were undeterred by the blazing heat and inspired by the enormous "thundering machinery" they'd brought along. With the Wall of Sound, they felt they'd reached a whole new level of symbiosis. Can you hear what they heard on that fateful night? Find out when you reach the upper realms of auditory bliss with this "essential for any tape library." Witness Jerry breaking new ground with a spectacularly different take on "Scarlet Begonias." Follow Phil and keyboardist Ned Lagin into the future of electronic music with their "Seastones" set and orbit into deep space during the 30-minute "Playing In The Band." Prefer to listen with both feet on the ground? The second set will bring you back to earth and still have you dancing with a plethora of pleasers like "Brown-eyed Women," "He's Gone," and "U.S. Blues," rounded out with the band's one and only "Spanish Jam." Plucked from the Grateful Dead's original tapes and mastered to HDCD specs by Jeffrey Norman.

Disc 1
1. Bertha
2. Mexicali Blues
3. Deal
4. Beat It On Down The Line
5. Row Jimmy
6. Me And Bobby McGee
7. Scarlet Begonias
8. El Paso
9. Tennessee Jed

Disc 2
1. Playing In The Band
2. Seastones
3. Brown-Eyed Women
4. Me And My Uncle
5. It Must Have Been The Roses
6. Jack Straw

Disc 3
1. He's Gone>
2. U.S. Blues
3. Weather Report Suite>
4. Jam>
5. Eyes Of The World>
6. China Doll
7. One More Saturday Night

3 Disc set
Limited to 16,500 individually numbered copies
Mastered to HDCD specs by Jeffrey Norman
Digipak made of 100% recycled and PCW materials
Release Date: February 1, 2016