Grateful Dead:
Dave's Picks Vol. 13
Winterland, S.F. - 2/24/74

CD440 - 3 CD
Rhino records, 2015

Go to the Shop



Grateful Dead: Dave's Picks Volume 13
Winterland, San Francisco, CA - 2/24/74

We're heeding the call for more of the majestic early 70s! No doubt, this was a time of great exploration and innovation for the Grateful Dead, one of their peaks... And so it is with great pleasure, that we are proud to present the official release of Winterland, February 24, 1974.

On the fertile grounds of their home turf and on the edge of what would become the Wall of Sound era, the Dead embarked upon a tremendous three-night run at Winterland. On this particular night, the last in the run, they warmed up the crowd with stellar new tracks "U.S. Blues" (previously known as "Wave That Flag"), "Ship of Fools," and "It Must Have Been The Roses." And while these debuts, nestled among fan favorites like "Playing In The Band" and "Brown-Eyed Women," were quite tantalizing, the 2nd set really brought it all home. Witness the magic on an incredibly jazzy, introspective "Dark Star," perhaps one of the finest version of "Morning Dew" during this time, and a beautifully arranged cover of "It's All Over Now Baby Blue."

The moments making up this masterpiece are made even more clear by the crispness of Kidd Candelario's recording. Epic, indeed! Limited to 16,500 individually numbered copies, Dave's Picks Volume 13: Winterland, San Francisco, CA - 2/24/74 has been mastered to HDCD specs by Jeffrey Norman and features illustrations by our 2015 Artist in Residence Micah Nelson. This one ships February 1st - get your copy before they are gone, gone, gone!

Product Details:
3 Disc set
Limited to 16,500 individually numbered copies
Mastered to HDCD specs by Jeffrey Norman
Digipak made of 100% recycled and PCW materials
Release Date: February 1, 2015

Tracklist: Winterland, San Francisco, CA (2/24/74)

Disc 1
1. U.S. Blues [6:22]
2. Mexicali Blues [3:45]
3. Brown-Eyed Women [5:26]
4. Beat It On Down The Line [4:04]
5. Candyman [7:19]
6. Jack Straw [5:07]
7. China Cat Sunflower> [9:54]
8. I Know You Rider [6:07]
9. El Paso [4:52]
10. Loser [6:44]
11. Playing In The Band [18:27]

Disc 2
1. Cumberland Blues [6:57]
2. It Must Have Been The Roses [5:38]
3. Big River [5:25]
4. Bertha [6:40]
5. Weather Report Suite> [15:34]
6. Row Jimmy [10:03]
7. Ship Of Fools [6:08]
8. Promised Land [3:33]

Disc 3
1. Dark Star> [29:08]
2. Morning Dew [13:54]
3. Sugar Magnolia> [8:54]
4. Not Fade Away> [4:48]
5. Goin? Down The Road Feeling Bad> [7:23]
6. Not Fade Away [4:29]
7. It?s All Over Now, Baby Blue [6:32]