Jerry Garcia Band: La Paloma Theater 1976 (2/21/76)

CD546 - 3 CD
Left Field Media- 2019

Go to the Shop



Jerry Garcia Band: La Paloma Theater
(2/21/76) - 3CD

SUPERB 3CD BROADCAST RECORDING FROM THE JGB IN 1976 Formed in 1975, the Jerry Garcia Band remained the most important side project of its esteemed leader through the remainder of the great man s life. Despite the group only making very sporadic recordings - their first album Cats Under The Stars wasn t released until 1978 and remained the only studio LP by the group they toured regularly, particularly during Grateful Dead downtime. The line-up of JGB was a regularly changing phenomena, although by late January 1976 it was set until August the same year as Jerry Garcia on guitar and vocals, John Kahn on bass, Keith Godchaux on piano and vocals and Ron Tutt on drums. And it was this talented collective who performed at the Paloma Theater in Encinitas, CA on February 21st 1976 for a show broadcast on FM radio along the west coast of the US, to the delight of those fans who were unable to get hold of a ticket. Featuring an eclectic mix of numbers including a few Grateful Dead classics, a couple of oddities and a vast array of exceptional covers, the complete show the band played that evening, lasting over 3 hours in total, is now available for the first time on this exceptional 3 CD set.


Disc: 1
  1. I Second That Emotion 15:30
  2. They Love Each Other 7:56
  3. Knockin' On Heaven's Door 19:58
  4. Who Was John 13:56
  5. Mystery Train 12:37

Disc: 2
  1. Friend Of The Devil 8:23
  2. Tore Up Over You 10:15
  3. The Night They Drove Old Dixie Down 8:38
  4. I'm A Road Runner 13:10
  5. The Way You Do The Things You Do 8:46
  6. Catfish John 12:45
  7. A Strange Man 7:11

Disc: 3
  1. Harder They Come 13:05
  2. Mission In The Rain 6:36
  3. My Sisters And Brothers 6:13
  4. After Midnight 9:57
  5. Moonlight Mile 11:14
  6. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You) 9:23
  7. Talkin' 'Bout You 13:12