Grateful Dead: Avalon Ballroom,
KPFA broadcast

CD537 - 1 CD

Go to the Shop



Grateful Dead: Avalon Ballroom, S.F., California,
12 October 1968, 1 CD

This hot show opens with a still somewhat young “Dark Star”, glorious and full of energy. It features impressive jamming, mostly due to Garcia’s peeling off the notes at a dizzying rate. With headphones this “Star” is quite a trip. “Saint Stephen” begins with a somber air, then careens forward into “The Eleven”, which has unbelievable, rapidly intensifying energy, and an electric transition into an alternately soulful, haunting, and soaring “Death Don’t Have No Mercy”. ( … )

Maintaining their gripping intensity throughout “That’s It for the Other One”, the Dead then find their way into a sublime, psychedelic “New Potato Caboose”. This is followed by the best part of the show: fifteen minutes “found” only in the nineties. A sweet, wild and beautiful jam struts into seven minutes of feedback ended by a cut, perhaps close to the end of the show.
(courtesy of Bill Kristi, The Deadhead’s Taping Compendium, volume 1)


1. Introduction
2. Dark Star >
3. St. Stephen >
4. The Eleven >
5. Death Don t Have No Mercy
6. Cryptical Envelopment >
7. Drums >
8. The Other One >
9. Cryptical Envelopment
10. New Potato Caboose >
11. Drums >
12. Jam >
13. Feedback

The Band:
Jerry Garcia: Guitar, Vocals
Bob Weir: Guitar, Vocals
Phil Lesh: Bass, Vocals
Bill Kreutzmann: Drums
Mickey Hart: Drums

KPFA broadcast
Number of Discs: 1
Label: Strangers' Gallery