Grateful Dead : Shakedown New York - Manhattan Dance Marathon 1971

CD526 - 2CD
Sutra, SUCD109, 2018

Go to the Shop



Grateful Dead : Shakedown New York - Manhattan Dance Marathon
Recorded at the Grand Ballroom, Manhattan Center, NYC, 5-6 April 1971

The aptly namedManhattan Dance Marathon was held across three nights at the Manhattan Center, on West 34th Street in April 1971. The CD cover says April 4th, but this recording is actually the 5th with two tracks from the 6th thrown in for good measure. Labeling mistakes aside, this run showcased the Dead doing extended jams on some of their songs, including a 23 minute version of Good Lovin. This 2CD also features them doing several cover versions such as Me and Bobby McGee, In The Midnight Hour and Oh Boy.

This set is taken from the live FM broadcast. The sound and ambience is good, but, as you would expect, the stereo separation is not comparable to a multitrack recording.

Track list:

Disc: 1
1. Bertha 6:45
2. Beat It On Down The Line 6:44
3. It Hurts Me Too 6:18
4. Me & Bobby McGee 7:17
5. Dire Wolf 6:30
6. Oh Boy 2:59
7. I'm A Hog For You Baby 4:19
8. In The Midnight Hour 10:17
9. Mama Tried 3:10
10. Cumberland Blues 4:46
11. Casey Jones 5:43
12. Greatest Story Ever Told/Johnny B. Goode 6:50

Disc: 2
1. Loser 6:27
2. Good Lovin' 23:11
3. Sugar Magnolia 6:17
4. Goin' Down The Road Feeling Bad/Not Fade Away 5:32
5. Truckin' 8:22
6. Big Boss Man 5:08
7. China Cat Sunflower/I Know You Rider 10:27