Grateful Dead:
The Grateful Dead
Re-issue of first album (1967) + P.N.E. Garden Auditorium, B.C. 7/29/66 + parts of 7/30/66

CD490 - 2 CD
Rhino, 2016

Go to the Shop



Grateful Dead: The Grateful Dead (1967)
2CD Deluxe anniversary edition, with bonus live CD from 7/29-30/66

First in a series of re-issues of ALL official
Grateful Dead studio and live recordings!

2017 marks the 50th anniversary of the Grateful Dead's eponymous debut studio album. What better way to celebrate than with a special album reissue series that will include two-disc deluxe editions and limited edition vinyl picture disc versions of all the group’s studio and live albums! These two-disc deluxe editions will include the original album with newly remastered sound, plus a bonus disc of unreleased recordings.

THE GRATEFUL DEAD: 50th ANNIVERSARY DELUXE EDITION contains the original album — newly remastered from the original tapes by David Glasser, and restored by Plangent Processes — along with a bonus disc that features the complete unreleased concert from July 29th, 1966 and select cuts from July 30th, 1966 at the P.N.E. Garden Auditorium in British Columbia, mastered by Jeffrey Norman. Only a few recordings from the Dead’s first two years exist, but each one reveals corners of the band’s repertoire not captured anywhere else. That’s especially true here, with three songs making their last appearance on any surviving Dead recording: “Standing On The Corner,” “You Don’t Have To Ask,” and “Cardboard Cowboy.”

Disc 1
1. "The Golden Road (To Unlimited Devotion)" [2:12]
2. "Beat It On Down The Line" [2:33]
3. "Good Morning Little School Girl" [5:50]
4. "Cold Rain & Snow" [2:31]
5. "Sitting On Top Of The World" [2:08]
6. "Cream Puff War" [2:31]
7. "Morning Dew" [5:09]
8. "New, New Minglewood Blues" [2:37]
9. "Viola Lee Blues" [10:16]

Disc 2: P.N.E. Garden Auditorium, Vancouver, BC, Canada 7/29/66
1. “Standing On The Corner” [3:23]
2. “I Know You Rider” [3:14]
3. “Next Time You See Me” [3:37]
4. “Sitting On Top of The World” [3:47]
5. “You Don’t Have To Ask” [5:14]
6. “Big Boss Man” [4:16]
7. “Stealin’” [3:37]
8. “Cardboard Cowboy” [2:56]
9. “It's All Over Now, Baby Blue” [5:23]
10. “Cream Puff War” [7:52]
11. “Viola Lee Blues” [10:03]
12. “Beat It On Down The Line” [2:47]
13. “Good Morning Little Schoolgirl” [5:47]

1. “Cold Rain and Snow” [3:14]
2. “One Kind Favor” [4:23]
3. “Hey Little One” [5:39]
4. “New, New Minglewood Blues”