Grateful Dead: Dawn of the Dead

Fillmore Auditorium, SF (11/19/66)

CD477 - 1 CD
Refractor Records, 2016

Go to the Shop



Grateful Dead: Dawn of the Dead,
Fillmore Auditorium 11/19/66

In 1966 the band's sound was still in development, as the performance presented on Dawn of the Dead demonstrates. A landmark concert from the Fillmore Auditorium on November 19th, 1966, broadcast live by Bay Area station KSAN, it sheds fascinating light onto a band caught in mid-transformation. Alongside their one original composition, Cream Puff War (which would make its way onto their 1967 debut LP), are performances of R&B staples I m a King Bee and In The Midnight Hour both songs that Pigpen had brought into the Warlocks setlist as well as re-arranged folk traditionals Cold Rain and Snow and He was a Friend of Mine from Garcia s past repertoire. In the elongated arrangements of The Same Thing, Dancing In The Street and a hypnotic Smokestack Lightning, however, the jazz-inflected tempo changes and improvisations offer the first true signs of the sound that would come to define the band only two years later. Dawn of the Dead is an indispensable document of an evolution in progress.

Track list:

1. Introduction / Cold Rain and Snow
2. High Heeled Sneakers
3. Pain in My Heart
4. Beat It on Down the Line
5. Cream Puff War
6. The Same Thing
7. He Was a Friend of Mine
8. Dancing in the Streets
9. Smokestack Lightning
10. I'm a King Bee
11. In the Midnight Hour

Number of Discs: 1
Label: Refractor Records