Grateful Dead:
New Year's Eve 1971
Winterland Arena, S.F. (12/31/71)

CD472 - 3 CD
Shady Grove, 2016

Go to the Shop



Grateful Dead: Winterland Arena, New Year's Eve 1971

"Just to complete the picture, there was a black 1972 and a white 1972, both young men, and they both just took off their diapers and are running around the stage nude. Looks very fine...." As an eventful year comes to a close, the Dead pull out all the stops in this revelatory hometown performance.

Out of the block with an incendiary "Dancin'" there is no let up as Jerry shines during "Tennessee Jed" and "Loser" and Pigpen's tight and surging renditions of "Chinatown Shuffle" and "Same Thing". KSAN-FM broadcast. "Happy New Year Kids!"

Jerry Garcia,
Bob Weir,
Phil Lesh,
Bill Kreutzmann,
Ron Pigpen McKernan,
Keith Godchaux.


Disc 1
1. Intro/Dancing in the Street
2. Mister Charlie
3. Brown Eyed Woman
4. Beat It On Down the Line
5. You Win Again
6. Jack Straw
7. Sugaree
8. El Paso/Chinatown Shuffle
9. Tennessee Jed
10. Mexicali Blues
11. China Cat Sunflower/ I Know You Rider
12. Next Time You See Me

Disc 2
1. Playing in the Band
2. Loser
3. One More Saturday Night
4. Truckin'
5. Drums
6. The Other One
7. Me and My Uncle
8. The Other One

Disc 3
1. Jam/Black Peter
2. Big River
3. The Same Thing
4. Ramble On Rose
5. Sugar Magnolia
6. Not Fade Away
7. Goin' Down the Road Feeling Bad
8. Not Fade Away
9. Casey Jones