Kingfish: Minglewood Blues

CD462 - 1 CD
Klondike, 2016

Go to the Shop



Kingfish, w. Bob Weir
Calderone Concert Hall, Hempstead, NY, 27th March 1976

Kingfish was fundamentally different to the more celebrated bands that Bob Weir and Dave Torbert hailed from. They clearly dug deep into their mutual love of American roots music to fashion a repertoire that established Kingfish as its own entity. The setlist performed here reflects the soul of their repertoire and finds Weir enjoying a brief sojourn from his obligations with the Grateful Dead while they took a well-earned break. As for Bob Weir, nobody was really sure what a hiatus for the Dead meant, and Kingfish could have blossomed if the Dead had remained on the bricks, but Weir had a fantastic few hundred hours jamming with friends as this performance easily shows.
Klondike proudly presents the entire original WLIR-FM broadcast of Bob Weir with Kingfish live at Calderone Concert Hall, Hempstead, NY from 27th March 1976. Professionally re-mastered original broadcast with background liners and rare archival photos! An exceptional celebration of the American songbook and a valuable addition for fans of NRPS and Grateful Dead.

1. Mystery Train > Muleskinner Blues
2. Goodbye Your Honor
3. Lazy Lightning > Supplication
4. Juke
5. Bye And Bye
6. Hypnotized
7. Minglewood Blues
8. Battle Of New Orleans
9. Big Iron
10. Jump For Joy
11. Promised Land
12. Sea Cruise reviewer Chris Jones: I thoroughly enjoyed this Kingfish recording (I've long been a fan, so it's hardly surprising perhaps). The show itself is full of vigour, the guitar playing of Robbie Hoddinott is magical throughout and Bob Weir is in fine voice. And, despite being a captured FM broadcast, the recording is first rate. The bonus is that the show (27 March 1976) includes a couple of their less well-known covers (Sea Cruise and Battle of New Orleans). The mroe regular items in their repertoire - Goodbye Your Honor, Lazy Lightning, Hypnotized, Jump For Joy etc - are all performed more than mere competently, as are the two songs more usually associated with bob Weir's work with the Grateful Dead - the title track Minglewood Blues and Chuck Berry's Promised Land. Moreover, the liner notes are actually a booklet rather than a single sided insert common to these 'grey area" recordings. All-in-all excellent value.