Family Dog at the Great Highway
4/18/70 - Mickey Hart and his Heartbeats & Bobby Ace and the Cards From the Bottom of the Deck

CD419 - 1 CD 2013

Go to the Shop



Family Dog at the Great Highway

Is it the Grateful Dead? Well, in name, no, but in music and personnel, heck yes! We're very pleased to present a rare, unknown recording of the Grateful Dead from April 18, 1970, at the Family Dog in San Francisco, a show that was played entirely acoustically. This is available on vinyl as an exclusive Record Store Day Black Friday release, a 2-LP vinyl set limited to only 7,500 copies and available only at your hip, local independent record stores on November 29. Support them! For those of you without record-playing capabilities (what's wrong with you?!?), we have made this available as a CD exclusively on (and Dancing Bear).

So, what's the deal with this show, and this recording? In May, 2013, Mountain Girl called to say she had a few reels of Grateful Dead music and wanted to return them. They turned out to be from 1970 and 1971. Jeffrey Norman quickly backed them up, and we were able to check them out. Sure enough, this was music we?d never heard before, nor knew it even existed.

One of the coolest things in this small stash was the 4/18/70 tape. We knew the Grateful Dead shared the bill this night with Charlie Musselwhite, and the NRPS, but they billed themselves as Mickey Hart and His Heartbeats, and Bobby Ace and His Cards From the Bottom Of The Deck.What the tape reveals is that they played just one set, an 80 minute acoustic opus featuring some expected stuff from the era, plus some shockers.

Street Date: November 29, 2013
Complete 80-minute acoustic show which includes six tracks of Pigpen's solo with acoustic guitar. exclusive


Disc 1
1 I Know You Rider (Fades in) [4:53]
2 Don't Ease Me In [3:26]
3 Silver Threads And Golden Needles [5:10]
4 Friend Of The Devil [4:24]
5 Deep Elem Blues [5:45]
6 Wake Up Little Susie> [2:53]
7 Candyman [5:42]
8 Cumberland Blues [5:48]
9 New Speedway Boogie [8:18]
10 Me And My Uncle [4:02]
11 Mama Tried [3:23]

12 Katie Mae (Incomplete) [1:26]
13 Ain't It Crazy (The Rub) (Fades in) [1:59]]
14 Roberta [3:34]
15 Bring Me My Shotgun [4:34]
16 The Mighty Flood> [4:05]
17 Black Snake [3:13]